
 
 

 

 

*RLAP* 

 

APPLICATION FOR 
REINSTATEMENT OF 

LAPSED APPROVAL FOR 
ADVANCED PRACTICE 

NURSING 

 
RN LICENSE NUMBER: 

 

SSN:  CRNP Faculty only 
 CRNA CNS no prescriptive and no 
 CRNP CNM collaborative practice 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Alabama Board of Nursing 

P. O. Box 303900 
770 Washington Avenue, Suite 250 

Montgomery, AL 36130-3900 
Phone: (334) 293-5200 

Toll Free Number: 1-800-656-5318 
 

www.abn.alabama.gov 

NAME  
ADDRESS 
(Line 1) 

 

ADDRESS 
(Line 2) 

 

CITY  

STATE, ZIP  

COUNTRY  
E-MAIL  
DAY PHONE  

FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. 
REINSTATEMENT and RENEWAL of Advanced Practice Nursing require: 

 $50 Reinstatement fee per APN specialty.  $50 Renewal fee per APN specialty 
 Active Alabama Board of Nursing Registered Nurse license. Reinstatement of RN license requires a separate application. 
CRNP & CNM: Submit a separate application to Add or Change Collaborative Practice for each collaborating physician. 
 Official verification (primary source)of your current specialty certification sent to the Alabama Board of Nursing by the certifying 

organization. 
 Six (6) continuing education hours in pharmacology pertaining to your area of practice within the past 24 months. 

 
 

 Personal checks are acceptable only if imprinted with the name, 
address, and account number of the applicant or licensee for an 
Alabama bank. 

 Business checks are acceptable. 
 Personal checks by third parties (spouse, friend, parents, etc.) are 

not acceptable. 
 Personal checks on out-of-state banks are not acceptable. 
 Counter checks are not acceptable. 

Reinstatement Fee for Advanced Practice Nursing 
ACTIVE Renewal of ONE Advanced Practice Nursing category 
 CRNA  CRNP CNM    CNS 

 

TOTAL for Reinstatement and Renewal of ONE APN category 
Add $50 per category to renew additional APN category 
 CRNA  CRNP CNM CNS 
GRAND TOTAL: Amount enclosed for this application 

 

$50 
 

$50 
 

$100 

 
 

Did you obtain 6 continuing education hours in pharmacology pertaining to your area of practice within the past 
twenty-four months? Copies of the certificates must be enclosed and show the provider number or approving 
agency, date of course completion or date credit was awarded, location, title of course, signature of authority, and 
name of person who was awarded the contact hours. Contact hours submitted for APN reinstatement cannot be 
applied to subsequent RN and APN renewal. [Not required for CNS] 

 
Regulatory Questions

 
 
YES   NO 








1. Since your last approval, have you been notified of an active investigation from any Board of Nursing, regulatory agency 
or law enforcement agency?  YES   NO 
 
2. Since your last approval, has your Qualified Alabama Controlled Substance Certificate  (QACSC) been revoked or have 
you been asked to voluntary surrender the QACSC certificate? YES   NO 
 
3. Since your last approval, have you been terminated or asked to resign from employment  
related to any nursing practice issues/concerns? YES   NO 
 
4. Since your last approval, were you arrested for or charged with any crime other than a minor traffic violation? Any 
arrest and/or charge related to driving while impaired or while under the influence of any substance is not a 'minor traffic 
violation'. YES   NO 
 
5. Since your approval, did you plead guilty to, enter a plea of nolo contendere or no contest, get convicted of, received 
deferred prosecution or adjudication for, have judgment withheld for, receive pretrial diversion for, or plead not guilty by 
reason of insanity or mental defect to, any misdemeanor or felony in any state, territory, or country?  YES   NO  
 
6. Since your last approval, did the licensing authority in any state, territory, or country deny, revoke, suspend, reprimand, 
fine, accept surrender of, restrict, limit, place on probation, or in any way discipline your nursing and/or any other 
occupational license, registration, certification, or approval? YES   NO 

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MOST RECENT EMPLOYMENT IN 
ADVANCED PRACTICE NURSING 

 
 

AFFIDAVITAFFIRMATION OF ELIGIBILITY FOR  
RENEWAL OF ADVANCED PRACTICE NURSING 

 
 
Date: / / 
Date of Last Employment as an Advanced Practice Nurse I affirm that the information recorded on this application concerning 

any item contained herein is true and correct. I understand that I 
Name of Agency may  be  required  to  submit  documentation  to  support   my 

affirmation.  I further understand that any false statement is in 
Address, City, State, ZIP violation  of  the Code of  Alabama and the Board of Nursing 

Administrative   Code  and  constitutes  cause  for  disciplinary 
Supervisor action. 

 
Telephone Number  

Signature Date 
 

County of Residence    



Reinstatement of Lapsed Approval for Advanced Practice Nursing 
 
Q: What is the reinstatement fee? 
A: The fee to reinstate one APN specialty is $100 ($50 APN renewal fee and $50 

reinstatement fee). 
 
Q: I was approved in more than one APN category. What is the fee for more 

than one? 
A: Each additional APN category costs $50. Example: CRNP & CNS = $150 

($50 reinstatement fee, $50 to renew CRNP, plus $50 to renew CNS) 
 
Q: What do I need to submit with the APN fee and application for reinstatement 

of Advanced Practice Nursing? 
   A: 1. CRNP, CNM, and CRNA: Attach copies of Continuing Education certificates for 6 

 contact hours of pharmacology pertaining to your area of advanced practice. (CNS does 
 not have a pharmacology CE requirement.) 

  2. CRNP Faculty Only applicants must also submit a letter from the Dean/Program 
 Director of the nursing school on institutional letter head confirming faculty status in the 
 Nurse Practitioner educational program. The CRNP Facility supervises nurse practitioner 
 students in direct care of patients in clinical settings where a CRN{ in an approved 
 collaborative practice or a physician is present to oversee patient care. 

   
Q: Do I have to reinstate my RN license in addition to the APN? 
A: YES. An Active RN license is required for APN approval. Submit the Application 

for Reinstatement of Lapsed License (on-line or paper form) with the fee and 
required documentation. CE for reinstatement must be earned within the past 24 
months preceding the date we receive your application. Six (6) of the required 24 
continuing education hours must meet the APN requirement for Pharmacology. 

 
Q: My Alabama Board of Nursing RN license is Active. Do I need to send 24 

contact hours? 
A: If your RN license is currently Active, send only the 6 Pharmacology credits 

pertaining to your APN specialty. 
 
Q: Can I pay the reinstatement fee on-line with a credit card? 
A: On-line payment for APN reinstatement is under development. Submit the paper 
            application and a check or money order for the fee. 

 

 
 
Q: Is there a temporary permit available while I earn my Pharmacology contact 
            hours for APN reinstatement? 
A: No, a temporary permit is not available for reinstatement applicants. 

 
Q. Can I apply for Reinstatement before earning the contact hours? 
A. No, you must have the contact hours completed prior to submitting the application. 

 
Q. What is the CE earning period for Reinstatement? 
A. Contact hours must be earned within the 24 months prior to the date we receive 

the application. Therefore, it depends on when the Reinstatement is submitted. 
 
Q. How can I tell if the course is acceptable to the Alabama of Nursing? 
A: Program title clearly identifies topic in pharmacology, OR 
A: Certificate of participation specifies total pharmacology contact hours earned for 

the program. 



Q: What about courses offered by my specialty organization? 
A: The Board of Nursing recognizes continuing education that is approved by national 

specialty organizations. Program title clearly identifies topic in pharmacology or 
the certificate of participation specifies total pharmacology contact hours earned for 
the program. 

 
Q. How do I get my contact hours? 
A. You may search for CE Providers in your area and browse through a list of 

upcoming CE opportunities under the Continuing Ed section of the Board’s website 
at www.abn.alabama.gov. You can also search the internet for continuing 
education for nurses, to find some independent study CE’s. (MEDCEU (the online 
company) contact hours are not accepted by the Alabama Board of Nursing.) 

 

 
 
Q. How will Reinstatement affect renewal and effective dates for my RN license 

and APN? 
A. RN’s reinstating the license between now and 08/31/2016 will receive an active 

license with an expiration date of 12/31/2016. . 
 

The APN approval card will expire with the RN license, 12/31/2016, or on the date 
your national specialty certification expires, whichever date comes first. After you 
submit verification of recertification, the Alabama Board of Nursing will update the 
APN card. 

 
Q: How much continuing education do I need to renew my RN and APN in 

2016? 
A: Nurses whose licenses are reinstated shall accrue for license renewal one contact 

hour for each calendar month remaining in the earning period after reinstatement; 
however, no hours will be required if the time remaining in the earning period is six 
months or less. Please refer to the prorated chart listed under the Continuing Ed 
section of the Board’s website at www.abn.alabama.gov. Contact hours earned for 
reinstatement of a lapsed license may not be used toward the continuing education 
requirement for the next license renewal. 

 
CRNA, CRNP, and CNM shall earn, as part of the required twenty-four (24) Board- 
approved or Board-recognized continuing education contact hours for license 
renewal, six contact hours of pharmacology content pertaining to the area of 
practice. 

 

 
 

PAYMENT BY PERSONAL CHECK OR BUSINESS CHECK 
 
Personal checks are acceptable only if imprinted with the name, address, and account 
number of the applicant or licensee for an Alabama bank. 
Business checks are acceptable. 
These forms of payment are not accepted: 

Personal checks by third parties (spouse, friend, parents, etc.) 
Personal checks on out-of-state banks 
Counter checks 

 
License verification fees are not payable by personal check. 

http://www.abn.state.al.us/
http://www.abn.state.al.us/


 
Applicants or licensees who have checks returned due to insufficient funds may be 
prohibited from paying any future fees by personal check and may be subject to 
disciplinary action. The bad check charge is $30. 

 
Please also refer to the Continuing Ed section of the Board’s website 

(www.abn.alabama.gov) for the following information: 
 

ABN Administrative Code 610-X-10 Continuing Education Rules, 
ABN-approved CE Providers 
ABN Recognized Providers 

CE credit limits for standardized national curricula (BCLS, ACLS, etc.) 
Future continuing education courses from ABN Providers 

http://www.abn.state.al.us/
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