
Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

Frequently Asked Questions and Answers 

Questions Answers 

Can I apply for licensure by 

endorsement if my school is not 

accredited? 

No. Alabama law requires graduation from a program accredited by an accrediting body recognized by the 

U.S. Department of Education. 

How long does it take to get a 

license? 

There is no timetable for issuing licenses.  A license will only be issued when all requirements are 

completed.  Applications are processed on a first-in, first-out basis. 

How much does it cost? $85.00 for the application, an additional $50.00 if requesting a temporary permit and a $3.50 transaction 

fee.  Be advised that, pursuant to Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code Section 610-X-4-.14(1), 

fees and fines are non-refundable.  Your application fee for a temporary permit will not be refunded, even if 

your Alabama nursing license is issued first or you are deemed ineligible for a temporary permit 

My nursing school is 

closed.  How can I obtain a 

transcript? 

Contact the board of nursing in the state where your school was located.  Someone was appointed 

receivership of the school’s records. 

How can I apply for a 

temporary permit? How long is 

it valid?  Do I have to have CE 

to obtain a temporary permit? 

We do offer a temporary permit, which would allow a first time applicant for endorsement to go to work for 

90 days while they meet the requirements for permanent licensure, including CE. There are four requirements 

to issue the temp permit: completed endorsement application, fee, citizenship/legal presence documentation, 

and a notarized copy of a current/active nursing license card. You will not be eligible for a temporary permit 

if the answer to any of the regulatory questions is 'yes.' If the state you are coming from no longer issues 

license cards with the effective dates, we will accept a notarized copy of the online verification page (which 

reflects name, license #, status, and effective dates) from the Board of Nursing website for the issuance of the 

temporary permit. 

I’ve held an Alabama license in 

the past.  I also hold licensure 

in other states.  Do I need to 

endorse? 

Once you’ve had an Alabama license, you always have an Alabama license.  If you did not keep it current, 

then the status is lapsed and you will need to reinstate it. 

  

 



Questions Answers 

How do I obtain my contact 

hours? 

We typically accept continuing education courses that are approved or accredited by any state board of 

nursing, state nurses association, or national organization such as the American Nurses Credentialing Center 

(ANCC).  A search can be conducted on the internet for continuing education for nurses to locate online 

providers.  You should check the approval or accreditation statement to see if the CE will be accepted.  The 

Board does not accept contact hours earned from MEDCEU (www.medceu.com) or its affiliates, i.e. 

American Medical Education.  We only accept college courses toward the CE requirement if they were 

completed after obtaining initial licensure as a nurse. 

What is the earning period for 

the contact hours? 

Contact hours should be no older than 24 months from the date you apply. 

The state I am endorsing from 

does not require contact 

hours.  Do I still need to have 

them? 

All endorsement applicants are required to submit 24 contact hours of continuing education, even if they are 

coming from a state that does not require them. 

I am a new graduate.  Do I 

need 24 contact hours?  Can 

my college course work be used 

as continuing education? 

 All endorsement applicants, regardless of their date of graduation or date of licensure, are required to submit 

24 contact hours of continuing education.  We only accept college courses toward the CE requirement if they 

were completed after obtaining initial licensure as a nurse. 

I was licensed in another state 

as an LPN based on the partial 

completion of an RN 

program.  Am I eligible for 

licensure by endorsement as an 

LPN in Alabama? 

In order to apply for LPN licensure, you must have graduated or successfully completed an approved practical 

nursing program in Alabama, or an approved practical nursing program located in another state or territory 

that substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama programs.  You cannot apply for licensure 

as an LPN based on the partial completion of an RN program.  

I am an Excelsior 

Graduate.  Am I eligible for 

licensure by Endorsement? 

Since your nursing education program (Regents/Excelsior) did not include clinical experience, you would 

have to supply a copy of your LPN transcript and detailed work experience as a nurse (both LPN and RN) 

after you submit the application and fee for licensure. The Board is looking for evidence of concurrent theory 

and practice in “adult, maternal-child, and psychiatric nursing,” as required by the ABN Administrative Code. 

Each applicant is reviewed individually.  We do not prescreen, so we cannot tell in advance whether you will 

meet the requirements or not. 

You should also refer to the following declaratory rulings regarding Excelsior graduates: 

http://abn.alabama.gov/Content.aspx?id=347 

http://www.medceu.com/
http://abn.alabama.gov/Content.aspx?id=347


http://abn.alabama.gov/UltimateEditorInclude/UserFiles/docs/Declaratory-Ruling/Licensure%20-

%20Zwagil.pdf 

http://abn.alabama.gov/UltimateEditorInclude/UserFiles/docs/Declaratory-Ruling/Licensure-Kemble.pdf 

http://abn.alabama.gov/UltimateEditorInclude/UserFiles/docs/Declaratory-Ruling/Licensure%20-

%20Eberhart.pdf 

I started the Endorsement 

process, but have had a change 

of plans.  Can I get a refund? 

Fees paid to the Alabama Board of Nursing are not refundable.  Your application and fees will remain active 

for one year.  You would be able to complete the endorsement process at any time within that period. 

I will be moving during the 

endorsement process.  Will my 

license or other correspondence 

be forwarded? 

Most of the Board’s mail is not forwarded, due to the nature of the contents.  Please be sure to keep your 

address up to date with the Board office.  There is a $25 fee to resend mail that is returned to the Board office. 

  

The Board of Nursing for my 

original licensure says my 

verification should come from 

NURSYS.  How is this done? 

You need to go www.nursys.com and follow their instructions for requesting verification. 

How can I check the status of 

my application? 

You can check the status of your application under the “Status Check” section of the Board’s website.  The 

endorsement status check provides you with a checklist of items that the Board is still waiting to 

receive.  Once the license is issued, you will be directed to the “License Look-Up” section of the Board’s 

website. 

How can I verify that my 

license has been issued? 

You can view the licensure information under the license lookup section of the Board’s website, by entering 

your name. 

 

 https://www.abn.alabama.gov/abnonlineapps/License_LookUp_v2.aspx 

How will Endorsement affect 

upcoming license renewals and 

effective dates? 

An RN license that is issued between now and 08/31/2016 will receive an active license with an expiration 

date of 12/31/2016.  

 

An LPN license that is issued between now and 08/31/2017 will receive an active license with an expiration 

date of 12/31/2017. 

 

If the applicant for licensure by endorsement is issued a license during the renewal period for that license 

type, the license shall expire at the end of the next license period.  Nurses whose licenses are issued through 

http://abn.alabama.gov/UltimateEditorInclude/UserFiles/docs/Declaratory-Ruling/Licensure%20-%20Zwagil.pdf
http://abn.alabama.gov/UltimateEditorInclude/UserFiles/docs/Declaratory-Ruling/Licensure%20-%20Zwagil.pdf
http://abn.alabama.gov/UltimateEditorInclude/UserFiles/docs/Declaratory-Ruling/Licensure-Kemble.pdf
http://abn.alabama.gov/UltimateEditorInclude/UserFiles/docs/Declaratory-Ruling/Licensure%20-%20Eberhart.pdf
http://abn.alabama.gov/UltimateEditorInclude/UserFiles/docs/Declaratory-Ruling/Licensure%20-%20Eberhart.pdf
http://www.nursys.com/


the endorsement process shall accrue for the first license renewal one contact hour for each calendar month 

remaining in the earning period.  Contact hours earned for initial licensure by endorsement may not be used 

toward the continuing education requirement for the next license renewal period.  

 


